Zodiak Journalists Win Thirteen Awards at MISA Gala

 Some of the accolades won by Zodiak Broadcasting Station reporters Some of the accolades won by Zodiak Broadcasting Station reporters - pic by Eamon Piringu

Several journalists at Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS) have won thirteen individual awards at this year's Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA) Malawi ceremony that took place at Crossroads Hotel in Lilongwe on Saturday night aimed at recognizing journalists and media houses that have highly performed in the previous year.

This comes as Journalists in the world were commemorating World Press Freedom Day that falls on 3rd May every year.

At the ceremony, the institution's editor Innocent Kumchedwa won the 2022 MISA Malawi's best investigative journalist of the year before scooping an overall journalist of the year award.

Speaking during the ceremony, vice chairperson of the judging committee of the awards, Theresa Chapulapula noted that there was an increase in entries which created a tight competition in several categories.

"This year we have noted that there is a rise in entries for the accolades, which we expect to continue in the future,” she said.

However, Chapulapula has expressed concern over lack of interest among community radio stations in the country to compete in the awards.

ZBS Dedza based reporter, Chikondi Mphande has walked away with 1 million Kwacha grand prize after winning two awards in the women and girl rights category.

Noel Mkubwi, Winstone Kaimira, Zuleika Nanguwo, Leah Malekano, and Christopher Sande have also won several awards at the ceremony.

Meanwhile, Editor at Zodiak, George Kalungwe has vowed to continue serving Malawians with balanced news for the country's development.

"At Zodiak we believe in giving the best as we represent people from all walks of life. Scooping thirteen awards is not a mean achievement for us but we are geared for more," said Kalungwe.

In other categories, Taonga Sabola of Times has won Business and Economic journalist of the year award in the print category.

The Nation Publications Limited were awarded the best online media house of the year while Times Group emerged winners of the media house of the year in the print, radio and television categories.

The function was graced by Minister of Information Moses Kunkuyu, Prophet Shepherd Bushiri and United States ambassador to Malawi, David Young, among other dignitaries.

Read 1125 times

Last modified on Sunday, 07/05/2023

Login to post comments
Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework