Walter Still at FAM Helm

Walter Still at FAM Helm

Walter Nyamilandu has retained office of President at the Football Association of Maláwi-FAM-after beating his vice James Mwenda in an election that ended 23-13.

Nyamilandu will go down in the history of football in Malawi as the longest-serving FAM president: having served 15 years already.

After serving his new four-year reign, he shall have served for 19 years.

However, the margin of victory points to growing opposition compared to previous elections when he won with greater margins.

Jabber Alide was elected vice president after he beat Daud Mtanthiko.

The Malawi Electoral Commission presided over the elections.

Voting at the FAM elective conference was by affiliate and results announcements were announced immediately after casting for each position was completed.

Riot police had to use teargas just after Walter was declared winner as Mwenda supporters wanted to invade the venue of the AGM, Nkopola Lodge.

Results of FAM Elective AGM_ 2019

1. Walter Nyamilandu Manda- 23
2. James Leonard Mwenda-13

1st Vice President
1. Jabbar Alide- 21
2. Daud Mthanthiko-15

2nd Vice President
1. Othaniel Hara- 21
2. Dr. Lameck Zetu-15

Executive Members
1. Chimango Munthali- 9
2. David Sado- 5
3. Madalitso Kuyera- 7
4. Muhammad Selemani- 5
5. Masiya Nyasulu- 4
6. Rashid Ntelera- 6

Female Member
1. Felistas Dosi

There was a tie between Davis Sado and Muhammad Selemani. Each had 5 votes.

After re-run, the two tied at  18.
Third round of voting:
Seleman 20
Sado 16

Read 3274 times

Last modified on Monday, 16/12/2019

Login to post comments


Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework